No HDMI signal in Screenly OSE Raspberry Pi

Hi there, I’m pretty new to the Balena environment but I have managed to install my first device.

I’m using a Raspberry Pi Zero W, it’s already loaded with Balena OS 2.29.2+rev1 and connected to BalenaCloud. The status of the device is online.

When I go to the Public Device URL, I can see and confirm that Screenly OSE is installed and running, however, the monitor connected to the Raspberry Pi is in black .

The Screenly Monitor & Power Info says: Unable to run tvservice. Unable to determine display power

At the first boot, I was able to see the screen and text while Balena OS was installing in the Raspberry Pi .

The installation guide doesn’t mention any more steps, although I remember searching on google and I finding a blog saying that one more step is needed for the Screenly package to be able to show locally through the Raspberry Pi hdmi output but I can’t find that page with those instructions.

Any suggestions ?

Hey @lenc, could you let me know which tutorial or base images you are using for this so that I can try to replicate the issue.

Secondly, is the HDMI monitor/tv connected before the raspberry pi is turned on?

You can also try adding the environment variable hdmi_force_hotplug=1 which will forge the GPU to enable HDMI.

Let me know how it goes.

Thank you

I’m in a similar situation. I’m just starting, and I had a Balena logo on the screen until I installed Screenly. I turned the monitor on, the slides I loaded appear for about 1/2 second, and then the screen went blank. I changed to a different display device, and it worked.

It seems that the monitor I was using didn’t like either the set resolution or scan rate. I found a different one, and the monitor info now says: state 0x12000a [HDMI CEA (16) RGB lim 16:9], 1920x1080 @ 60.00Hz, progressive
I’ve got an old small television I plan to use with this, so I’ll try to go in to edit the config file to change the output resolution.