Screenly OSE + Balena + Wifi not connecting

I’m in a public school setting in the USA, and I’m following this tutorial to make a digital billboard with Screenly OSE.
I have successfully:

• Flashed the BalenaOS disk image through BalenaCloud that includes Screenly and the wifi credentials
  • It boots to the Balena Cube logo, then hangs, the Raspberry Pi 3 B flashing the 4 lights, pause, 4 lights indicating no wifi connection.

So I put the SD in my PC and changed the wifi settings to my phone’s hotspot in case some ports at school were blocked, but I get the same problem and 4 lights.

The “resin-wifi-1” file is currently set for my phone’s hotspot with these settings:

[connection]
id=resin-wifi-01
type=wifi

[wifi]
hidden=true
mode=infrastructure
ssid=myphonehotspot

[ipv4]
method=auto

[ipv6]
addr-gen-mode=stable-privacy
method=auto

[wifi-security]
auth-alg=open
key-mgmt=wpa-psk
psk=mysecretpassword

I’m fairly new to this, but my students and I are determined to get our digital billboard working to show students walking through the hallways what our tech lab is up to!

Any ideas?

Hello,
This configuration looks correct. Except maybe hidden=true. Is your phone access point hidden ?
Does your phone see a new client connecting ?
Do you have an Ethernet connection available for checking ?
If not, you can try downloading a development image and connect to the pi via the serial port with a cable like this one https://learn.adafruit.com/adafruits-raspberry-pi-lesson-5-using-a-console-cable.

I set the hidden to false, and same result, and the phone doesn’t show a client connected. Got a new message though, see below.
Tried with Ethernet and got the same new message on boot:

Do you see the device appearing on the dashboard when it is connected through Ethernet ?