Getting Application Up and Running

Hi all,

I’m new to Resin/Balena. I like what I see and really want to get into it and test its capabilities however I’m hitting a bit of a roadblock.

I have setup a device as a Virtual Box VM following this guide:

I used image downloaded from BalenaCloud for application I created. VM starts, after usual linux type boot output Balena logo is display. I used the dev image version.

For the application to test with I’m following the getting started guide and using:

After pushing to balena remote from my application using command in getting started guide I receive the following:
[Success] Successfully uploaded images
[Success] Release successfully created!

Followed by the unicorn etc…

My VM device appears on the Devices tab for the application and has status of ‘Online’.

The release pushed appears on the ‘Releases’ tab with ‘Succeeded’ status.

Unfortunately however the release is never pushed to my device. I can’t see any reason why it isn’t or any way to make it happen.

Have tried starting from scratch several times.

Any help appreciated.

Cheers
Chris

Hi Chris,

Could you please share the dashboard url to this device and enable support access?

It doesn’t sound right that you don’t get any errors but the release is not pushed fine. We need to take a closer look at the device to understand what’s wrong.

Cheers…
Fırat

Hi Firat,
I have granted access and the dashboard url is:
https://dashboard.balena-cloud.com/devices/01eab244bdd8cb5c5a8743073d8d1512/summary

Cheers
Chris

Thanks, we’re having a look

@samothx and I found that the issue is that they’re inside the flasher image, and flashing the virtual HD fails with the following errors:

root@01eab24:~# /usr/bin/resin-init-flasher
[resin-init-flasher] INFO: Board specific initialization...
[resin-init-flasher] INFO: resin-init-flasher configuration found.
[resin-init-flasher] INFO: resin configuration found.