Setting Up A Web Server Using Balena Cloud (Rasp. Pi 4B)

Hi, I’m still fairly new to using Balena Cloud but I want to know if it is possible to set up a web server through B. Cloud using a Raspberry Pi 4? I’ve had trouble setting up web servers on my Pi, and I was wondering if using Balena Cloud would be a good solution or not. If possible, could you please link resources or articles/guides I can refer to? Thank you.

Hello Ethan! Yes, it’s very simple to get a working webserver set up on your device with balenaCloud. I’d suggest taking a look at the node hello world example project, which sets up a simple express.js server:
https://github.com/balena-io-examples/balena-node-hello-world
And following this guide for how to get started with balena:
https://www.balena.io/docs/learn/getting-started/raspberrypi3/nodejs/

Have fun!

Hi @srlowe,

Thanks for linking the article and the GitHub page, but I am running into trouble with accessing my Pi through FTP. I’m using WinSCP and set the hostname as my Pi’s IP address, and the username as “pi” and the password through the password I set through SCP_PASSWORD in Device variables. I connected using both SCP and SFTP with no success. Do I need to enable SSH somehow? Or am I doing something else wrong here?

Hi @ethanic17 – can you let us know exactly how far you’ve gone along in the tutorial? At what step are you running into trouble?

Also, I’m not sure from your message why you’re trying to connect to your Pi through WinSCP. Can you outline what you want to accomplish with this step?

All the best,
Hugh

Hi @saintaardvark,