Run a script to setup a HAT on my Raspbery Pi 4 host

Hi,
I need help to run the setup script for Witty Pi3 Rev2 a Realtime Clock and Power Management HAT for Raspberry Pi.

Let me start by saying that I’ve been trying to search the right info for hours but I’m new to this and are pretty much lost :stuck_out_tongue:

I followed the instruction here to setup my Pi as an Airplay receiver. That works as expected.

Now I want to ask a Witty HAT to be able to easily turn off my Pi with the press of a button, among other things.

I’m trying to go through the Terminal that I found on the balena cloud dashboard of my device.

First I turn the device read-write to be able to download my script:
mount -o remount,rw /
Then I download the script with:
wget http://www.uugear.com/repo/WittyPi3/install.sh
Then I try to run the script with sudo as follows:
sudo sh install.sh

It seems like sudo in not available from here which makes me think that they are quite some things I did not understand yet, or maybe I’m meant to go through the CLI maybe?

Maybe I missed the documentation somewhere that helps me to update things to the host but I wasn’t able to find anything.

Can someone please point me to the right direction? I’d really appreciate. Thanks.

Also, once I do that, will my changes be overwritten by the next update or so? How do I persist my changes?

Thanks in advance,
John

Hi,

When you log into the Host OS (or most containers), your command prompt will show a # indicating that you are already running as root. This means you don’t need the sudo bit for installation.
You only need to sudo if you are running as a normal user (indicated by $).

Ideally, you would try to do all of this in a container, but the device configuration actually needs to run before that.

I’ve taken a quick look at the install script, and noticed a few things off if you were to try to apply it to your Balena device.