Need help installing balenaEtcher

BalenaEtcher is new to me. I haven’t been able to find clear instructions on putting it on a usb flash drive.

I recently bought an old Dell Latitude 630 running Windows XP. Everything works on the tablet, but it won’t download anything. I have decided to install a new os - Linux Lite. I have never done anything like this before. So, you could call me a total newbie.

I need some help. If I haven’t described my project clearly, please ask!!!

Thanks - George

So, BalenaEtcher is just a flashing tool. You wouldn’t put Etcher on a flash drive, you would install it on your computer. Then you use Etcher to write the disk image to the USB drive.

From the download instructions, you need to

Then, use Etcher to flash the lite-5.6-64bit.iso file to the USB drive, which should be pretty straight forward

OMG!! I am not any type of computer techie. I don’t understand your instructions. I don’t know how to get from my computer to the flash drive. What disk image am I going to write to the usb? Wait a minute, I thought Etcher had written the disc image to a usb drive. Where will I get the disc image to download thru bit torrent? Crap, I’m confused.

Thanks for the instructions, but they are way over my head. Did you leave some steps out or assume I knew how to do something?

Hi @gbono2, that’s okay! Let’s try again, and if you don’t understand part or whole of the following instructions, please don’t hesitate to ask. So, you’re running Windows XP on a Dell Latitude 630, which is a fairly old laptop, however you want to run Linux Lite on it. Since the Windows XP laptop won’t download anything, it won’t be able to get a copy of the balenaEtcher application easily. I’m assuming you have access to another computer which has a USB port. Then, the steps to follow would be the following: