Jetson Nano + Intel AX200 WiFi Driver

Hi, I am new to Balena but looking to use it to develop a custom Jetson Nano board for an IIoT project. We are working on a prototype using the Jetson Nano development kit, which utilizes an Intel AX200 WiFi M.2 / PCIe card. According to Intel, it requires iwlwifi 46.3 or newer drivers:

https://wireless.wiki.kernel.org/en/users/drivers/iwlwifi

It appears that BalenaOS build for Jetson Nano includes iwlwifi drivers, but it must be an earlier version as I don’t see the specific AX200 driver in there - and not surprisingly my AX200 is not being recognized. Is there any way that I could modify the base OS build to include the newer iwlwifi driver, such that my devices can connect to wifi out of the box?

Any guidance on this would be appreciated - thanks!

The driver unfortunately requires a 5.1+ kernel which makes it very hard for us to merely bump the driver version. I chatted with the devices team and their opinion is maybe building the driver externally and loading it in the container may work, but it requires some knowledge to do so, though we’d be happy to provide pointers if you decide to go that route.

Thank you - yes I would definitely like to give it a shot. The WiFi 6 functionality is core to what we are doing so this would be important for us to figure out if possible. Also when we finish developing our custom board for the Nano we will likely need to load other custom drivers so I think this is a good thing to figure out now.

You’ll find in the following link an example on how to build an out-of-tree kernel module using balenaOS. You’ll also find in the following forum post some pointers from another user on how to do that as well. Obviously we are happy to help out with any issues you find along the way.