Intergrate resin on other development board

Hi All,

I am a newbie to resinOS.
My current requirement is to add/integrate resinOS on my development board.

The configuration of my development board is as below:
The board’s name is Pico Hobbit board - iMX6UL.
OS - Yocto Jethro build base image.
Running successfully with,

MACHINE           = "pico-imx6ul-emmc"
DISTRO            = "fsl-imx-fb"
DISTRO_VERSION    = "4.1.15-2.1.0"

Currently, the BSP from the manufacturer is from the Jethro branch for this board.

I am looking for a software updater tools.

I have visited the and studying this now.

But, before going ahead, I want to clear few of my doubts here.
Firstly, from where I have to start for adding the board into resinOS?
Would this i.MX6UL supported (Yocto running Jethro branch) by resinOS?
For integration of custom/other dev board, what kind of necessary data (= Yocto layers, packages, etc…) would be needed?

My foremost priority is to update the board’s image OTA (over the air) with Yocto build.

It would be very helpful for me.
If anyone needs information/data prior to this, then please let me know.

Regards,
Jaymin

Hi Jaymin,
the doc you linked to is taken from this one: https://github.com/resin-os/meta-resin/blob/master/contributing-device-support.md

I would expect the meta-reisn doc to be the most up-to-date. Also, there should be some upcoming changes to this doc in the near future.

“Firstly, from where I have to start for adding the board into resinOS?”. What exactly do you mean by that? The document above describes how to do it.

As for supporting Yocto Jethro, yes, we support it.

The needed components are also described above: you need yocto BSP layer that allows you to boot into linux. At it’s most basic, this yocto bsp should provide you with recipes for the bootloader and kernel for this board.

So you are interested in being able to update also the host OS on your custom board?

Hi Florin,

Thanks for your quick response.