HyperPixel 2.1 Round Display Support

Hey all, I’m trying to get this display working with Balena OS, together with the browser block. Disclaimer: I’m still very new to Balena.

Since the device overlays for the hyperpixel2r are not yet available in Balena OS, I compiled them on my Mac OS X to the .dtbo format and then copied it before provisioning the device into /mnt/overlays. You need to do this straight after flashing the image, otherwise it won’t be persisted.

Based on this comment, I then based most of my next steps.

I successfully ran the ./dist/hyperpixel2r-init script from a python container. I also added the I2C interface based on this documentation.

FROM balenalib/%%BALENA_MACHINE_NAME%%-python:3-buster-build

# Defines our working directory in container
WORKDIR /usr/src/app

RUN pip install --no-cache-dir RPi.GPIO

# This will copy all files in our root to the working  directory in the container
COPY . ./

# Enable udevd so that plugged dynamic hardware devices show up in our container.
ENV UDEV=1

CMD modprobe i2c-dev && python3 ./dist/hyperpixel2r-init

my docker-compose.yml is…

version: '2'
services:
  display:
    build: ./display
    restart: on-failure
    privileged: true # required for UDEV to find plugged in peripherals such as a USB mouse
    devices:
      - "/dev/i2c-1:/dev/i2c-1"
      - "/dev/mem:/dev/mem"
      - "/dev/ttyACM0:/dev/ttyACM0"
    cap_add:
      - SYS_RAWIO
    labels:
      io.balena.features.kernel-modules: '1'
  browser:
    restart: always
    image: balenablocks/browser
    privileged: true # required for UDEV to find plugged in peripherals such as a USB mouse
    network_mode: host
    depends_on:
      - display

I also added the configs I found in the install.sh as BALENA_HOST_CONFIG_* custom configuration variables as well as the DT params and overlays I think are required, but potentially too many:

Interesting logs:

dimes
[    1.826947] bcm2708_fb soc:fb: FB found 1 display(s)