First Time setup help

I need to preface this with the fact that I am extremely new to my Pi and Linux but I’m doing …ok (hopefully).
I’ve been able to do almost of everything in the Step-By step but there are some issues I’m having that I don’t understand.

1. Is balenasound headless? - I pulled my NOOBS SD Card from the machine and put in the Balena flashed card (I haven’t learned how to put multiple OS’s on the same SD card yet), and on it’s (the PI) monitor it just show the Balena logo on a white background, should I see anything on it’s monitor?
  2. Is the dashboard “Terminal” the same as Balena CLI? If not, how am I supposed to get a another program onto a headless system without the proper commands and I certainly cant use VNC since it’s no on this card?
  3. SSH Keys? Do I really need an SSH key to deploy balena.sound to the Pi? I signed up for a Github account, thinking it was like a “token” and everyone gets one when you sign up… that’s not the case from what I’m seeing.

All in all, I feel like balena.sound is the answer to many projects I’ve been contemplating for a long time but I feel like I’m making 2 steps backwards for every 1 I take.

Thanks in advance for any help you can provide.

Hi, welcome to balena.
To answer your questions:

1 - by default, when you download a balena OS image from the dashboard and you provision your device with it, that’s what you will see on the screen: the balena logo. You then need to push code to it. Which brings us to point 2
2 - You can push code several ways. They are described here: https://www.balena.io/docs/learn/deploy/deployment/
The terminal you see in the dashboard is basically a ssh connection which you can choose to make on either the hostOS or on any of the containers you have pushed to the device. You can also ssh to the device by using the balena cli. See here for ways available to make ssh connections: https://www.balena.io/docs/learn/manage/ssh-access/