Can't boot from USB SSD?

Hi, Folks. I’m pretty new to balenaOS and to Linux in general so please forgive any basic gaps in my knowledge.

I’ve been trying to get my Raspberry Pi 3 B+ to boot balenaOS from an SSD drive rather than an SD card. I’m interested in doing this primarily for the reliability of the SSD rather than for speed reasons, although the speed boost is a welcome bonus. I am using a WD Green 120GB M.2 SATA SSD and a StarTech M.2 SATA Converter designed specifically for the Pi. I have confirmed that this hardware works by installing the Raspbian image with balenaEtcher and booting the Pi from it without an SD card present. This worked like a charm.

However, things are different when I install the balenaOS image. It appears to recognise the SSD attached to the USB port and even start to read files from it:

scanning usb for storage devices... 1 Storage Device(s) found

Device 0: Vendor: WDC WDS1 Rev: UI50 Prod: 20G2G0B-00EPW0
            Type: Hard Disk
            Capacity: 114480.0 MB = 111.7 GB (234455040 x 512)
... is now current device
Scanning usb 0:1...
Found U-Boot script /boot.sccr

It then goes on to “scan mmc devices” and complain about them “not responding to voltage select”. After some other messages, it appears to start trying to PXE boot but since I don’t have a PXE server on my network, this fails and ends up with the last line U-Boot>. I expect that something has already gone wrong by this point though because I would have expected it to boot into balenaOS and show the “balenaOS” ASCII art as it does when I boot from an SD card.

Can anybody help me diagnose what’s going wrong here, please?

Hi @damianpowell ,

Thanks for getting in touch. We don’t officially support anything other than SD card booting at the moment. That said…