cannot detect device after flashing fail

Hello

Following the step of balenaFin Getting Started, I have some problems
Here is my steps,

1. select balenaOS and download the image
  2. connect a USB to mico-USB cable between win10 laptop and balenaFin_V1.1’s PRG port
  3. Open balenaEtcher 1.5.59 and select the image downloaded previously
  4. cannot select target because of it need CM3 driver, so download and install driver on https://www.raspberrypi.org/documentation/hardware/computemodule/cm-emmc-flashing.md
  5. start flashing, it fail when flashing 21%
  6. retry flashing, still failed, it shows unknown error
  7. after second failed, system can not detect balenaFin device anymore

I am a new developer for embedded system. Could you help me for this?
Thank you.

Regards
Mark

Hi,

Can you please have a look at the troubleshooting to see if there is anything useful?
Also even now, your system can’t detect the Fin when it’s plugged?

Hi there, I have a few questions that will help me get a better picture of where the root cause of the issue might be.

• Did you purchase the balenaFin Developer Kit? If you didn’t , what Compute Module, USB cable and PSU are you using?
  • When you retry flashing, is the balenaFin mounted as a storage device?
  • If you plug the balenaFin to the power supply, what LEDs do you see turned on?

Cheers,
Nico.

Hi Nico

Thanks for your reply.
I purchased balenaFin V1.1 Developer Kit on official website.
When plugging to power supply, 3V3 and 5V of Status LED are turned on, RGB LED shows weak red.
I do not get the point about question 2. Could you explain more about it?

Thanks
Mark

I found out the reason for detecting no device. I do not install the CM3 properly.
Now I can detect the device by balenaEtcher, but flashing still fail.
I download the balena.img on https://www.balena.io/os/#download.
Selecting Fin, I have tried image both Production and Development.
What may I have overlooked?

Thanks