Audio stops when wifi goes away or is unavailable

I’m new to all of this but I’m having an issue - I’m trying to make it so that I can use the Pi OFFLINE with a downloaded playlist on my mobile. My mobile device plays the music, sends over bluetooth to the pi (running balena) and the Pi is plugged into a speaker via 3.5mm jack. However if I don’t have wifi available it suddenly stops playing? Why is this?

Here is the guide I followed, and it works great! (As long as wifi is available)

Hi! Thanks for reaching out, if you haven’t already as a first instance it may be useful to use the variables SOUND_DISABLE_SPOTIFY and SOUND_DISABLE_AIRPLAY to be certain it isn’t playing over wifi. I have to admit running balenaSound offline isn’t something I’ve done personally so I’m going to give it a try too.

Let me know what you find when you do get a chance to try it.
As for disabling Spotify and Airplay: Where would I do that? When I’m configuring the build? Or can I do it on an instance that’s already up and running?

Hello, you would add/edit the SOUND_DISABLE_SPOTIFY and SOUND_DISABLE_AIRPLAY variables from the fleet variables page (if you want the variables to apply to all devices in the fleet) or from the device variables page (if you want the variables to apply only to a specific device).

I’m not sure if you’re addressing me, but:
I’m new to this. I’m very inexperienced with Raspberry Pi in general (though I’ve used them for a few years now for various things and I’m loosely familiar with a lot of linux command line stuff).
I’m extremely new to balena in general. I didn’t even know it was a thing until about a month ago and I’m not sure I still fully understand the complete usefulness of it - though I think it’s absolutely awesome already.

I guess you might be asking me to add these lines to my build while configuring the setup for a new device? When I have a few moments I’ll try to dig in and figure out what you may mean.
And thank you for your help/reply.

Hey,