Swift on Balena – a Swift Language Stack for Balena

Hi all,

I wanted to share a link to a project that I’ve been working on – Swift on Balena.

It adds support for the Swift programming language to a subset of balena’s base images for Raspberry Pi and other ARM devices.

I’ve been using Swift on BalenaCloud for several months and have been very excited about the potential of running Swift on IoT devices.

There’s a hello world sample project to get started with for those who are interested. Feedback welcome and appreciated. :slight_smile:

Thanks to everyone at balena who has been so helpful and supportive on the forums!

Cheers,
Will

2 Likes

Hey, this is fantastic work - thank you so much for your effort and contribution to the Balena ecosystem :+1:

1 Like

Hey @wlisac this looks awesome! I’ll definitely have a play around with it. Have you tried your swift base images with the new --live flag on balena push <deviceIP>? I think if swift does incremental compilation, it should speed things up quiet a bit as you wouldn’t rebuild from scratch everytime.

Thanks @shaunmulligan :blush: let me know how it goes.

The --live flag sounds promising. I’ll have to give it a try.

Is there some additional documentation for how to use --live besides what’s available on the latest CLI docs?

For example: it sounds like it’ll keep the sources files in sync, but I’m not sure how it would know to trigger a swift build to perform an incremental compilation and to restart the app binary.

So far I’ve been using various other techniques to improve the local device debug loop, mostly by semi-abusing the docker layer cache to cache swift package dependencies / modules.