Rebuilding my Home Server

Hello community, long-time enthusiast, first-time poster here.

I’m curious, is anyone running a sophisticated home server using Balena at its core?

My 2016 Home Server has been simplified down to a docker-compose file for a few years now, and last week I decided to refresh some of the hardware (processor, memory, OS SSD) to better serve my current needs and take the device to EOL.

Being a believer in continuous delivery and having to rebuild the OS drive, I thought to myself, “wouldn’t this be nice if I could minimize the maintenance responsibilities of the underlying os while automating the delivery of the applications?” which led me back to Balena and the pleasant discovery that the Intel NUC device-type can be reused on normal PC hardware!

So far things are promising. I was able to easily run the installer on the drive for the operating system have two containers deployed so far: Traefik and home assistant. I’m new to Traefik so still working through configuring the reverse-proxy service, but once I have that finalized my plan will be to finish the HA configuration, re-implement a media automation to plex, then extend into other kinds of automation, possibly adding a GH Actions Runner and/or OpenFaaS to handle some of the repetitive processing jobs I have.

If anyone’s done similar for their home servers, I’d love to hear your experiences. Even more so if you’re familiar with any gotchas or have implemented a reverse proxy

I’ve been toying with the same idea myself, but haven’t set up anything yet. I’ll be following this thread :eyes:

Hey there,

I actually started playing with this project for displaying ADS-B plane data locally on a display I have here. That project uses Traefik directly and I was quite a fan of how easy the docker-compose labeling made the reverse proxy setup. I hope that helps you get your feet wet with Traefik!