Pip version mismatch

Hi, on several of the beginner examples, I’m seeing a pip error that causes the build to fail:
ImportError: cannot import name _remove_dead_weakref
…research online suggests this is because there’s a mismatch between versions of pip, but putting
RUN pip install --upgrade pip
results in the same error.

I’m a beginner, so my apologies if there’s something obvious I’m not understanding. Any help or pointers you could provide would be appreciated!

AKA

Hey there, can you post which base image you are using? From what I can find this error suggests a conflict in Python installations – are you manually installing Python in your Dockerfile?

Thanks for the quick reply!

Right now I’m trying to implement this on a RasPi Zero W. The base image was resin/%%RESIN_MACHINE_NAME%%-python:2.7 and I also tried removing the version in hopes of getting the latest, ie resin/%%RESIN_MACHINE_NAME%%-python

Earlier in the week, I tried the example here and the example here. In both of those cases, I was trying to add stuff (python’s omxplayer wrapper, Adafruit GPIO, and some others) via the requirements.txt file, but encountered this same error at some point in both cases.

I yak-shaved so much on both of the prior repos that I eventually lost track. So for the wifi-connect-example repo, I’m asking for help before doing a lot of flailing :wink:

To answer your question, I’m not installing python in the dockerfile…in fact, just as a sanity check, I reverted back to the unaltered dockerfile in that repo and still encountered the error in the first post. I’m very puzzled as to what I’m doing wrong!

Thanks again for any help / hints you can provide - happy to put a gist or pastebin up if that would help!

AKA

Ah, looking more at why the unaltered repo does not work, I see this issue indicating incompatibility with the latest version of wifi-connect.