Newb question. How do I install cryptsetup?

Yes, I’m a newb - but loving it so far. I need to mount luks encrypted volumes. How do I install cryptsetup?

Is it possible to have a build command in the dockerfile? From what I’ve read it’s difficult to implement.
I need to attach luks encrypted volumes to bind mount the _data directories. The particular container is an SSH target.

I think the problem is a bit different - my understanding of LUKS (as far as I know, please correct me) is that it would need kernel support / LUKS needs to be included in the Linux Kernel. In this case - including it into the balenaOS / Yocto Kernel. I don’t know if this is already included, otherwise you probably would need to build your own balenaOS for your usecase and enable LUKS ( I guess you can check this yourself, if its a Kernel Module BalenaOS Masterclass - Balena Documentation ). And to compile you own balenaOS - this will help balenaOS - Docs

Afterwards you probably will need to build your own LUKS enabled container with the software included in it, mount your drives into the container and then decrypt and use it.

Thank you for clarification. I thought it would be something like this.

Hi,

It looks to me like you can just install the package and things will work.
Depending on how you’ve set up your Dockerfile (which base image), simply adding something like
RUN install_packages cryptsetup or RUN apt-get update && apt-get install -y cryptsetup
before your command should work.

Just tried a quick test on a running system and seems to work.

1 Like

While I do have a Dockerfile in my local directory, the dockerfile is empty.
Which base image did you use?

Hi,

My Dockerfile starts with FROM balenalib/fincm3-openjdk:11-buster-run, which is a Debian image.

Hi,