BalenaOS vs Ubuntu vs k3os

Hello everybody :wave:,

First I wanted to thanks Balena for their amazing work :pray: and this community too for being there and making Balena a great product to work with :sparkles:.

As you can guess, I’m a passionate developer :man_technologist:, especially in developing containerised projects on Raspberry Pi so that everybody can use them at home in a very simple way :hatching_chick:.

My goal here is to prepackage everything so that an end-user (who have never touched a terminal in his life) only need to:

• flash a .img on their Raspberry Pi
  • (optionnal) if they want to connect via Wi-Fi, edit a config file available on a boot partition to add their SSID/ password

My project is working with 5 containers / images available on Dockerhub, and the goal is to always pull the latest tag of these images, so that the whole project is updated to the latest version whenever a Raspberry Pi is rebooted :arrows_counterclockwise:.

I can see that, as of today, :three: main options are available to me:

• Going with Ubuntu for Raspberry Pi, and using cloud-init to bootstrap the project (installing Docker / docker-compose, downloading the docker-compose.yaml, and launching it)
    One drawback that I can see, is that Ubuntu is not particularly optimised for containerised apps.

• Going with k3os, and using k3os config (cloud-init like) to bootstrap the project (apply k8s remote conf).
    The OS should be optimised for containerised apps, however, the building of a custom OS image to simply “flash a .img” and get it working does not seems easy :exploding_head:.

• Going with BalenaOS
    Here I need your help to know if it’s possible to modify a balena-os.img to add my docker-compose.yaml so that an end-user could simply “flash a .img” and get it working.
    The goal is also not to be linked to Balena Cloud and/or Open Balena but to just use BalenaOS to run apps on Raspeberry Pis.

Thanks a lot for your time!

1 Like