inkyshot having trouble displaying quotes

i have it running the alternate mode changing between weather and qoute. it pulls the weather in fine and am happ with this but when it changes to quotes the logs read
this;
17.02.21 11:05:46 (+0000) inkyshot ERROR:root:HTTPSConnectionPool(host=‘quotes.rest’, port=443): Max retries exceeded with url: /qod?category=inspire&language=en (Caused by NewConnectionError(’<urllib3.connection.HTTPSConnection object at 0xb3fc4610>: Failed to establish a new connection: [Errno 110] Connection timed out’))
17.02.21 11:05:46 (+0000) inkyshot INFO:root:Message: Sorry folks, today’s quote has gone walkies :frowning:

i am new to this and this is my first rasb pi project so i have no idea what this means. all help welcomed

Hi there, looks like it can’t retrieve the quote for some reason? Could you try setting the quote to a different type by adding a device environment variable called QOD_CATEGORY, and setting its value to funny ? Thanks

I have changed it now, will update you after im also getting this error

17.02.21 12:55:13 (+0000) inkyshot INFO:root:Display type: InkyPHAT_SSD1608
17.02.21 12:55:13 (+0000) inkyshot INFO:root:Display dimensions: W 250 x H 122
17.02.21 12:55:16 (+0000) inkyshot Traceback (most recent call last):
17.02.21 12:55:16 (+0000) inkyshot File “/usr/app/update-display.py”, line 348, in
17.02.21 12:55:16 (+0000) inkyshot message = data[‘contents’][‘quotes’][0][‘quote’]
17.02.21 12:55:16 (+0000) inkyshot KeyError: 'contents

Update; changed to funny and its giving that same error ^

Thank you

Hi there, I’ve tried manually accessing the API where inkyshot gets its quotes from (They Said So | Say it with style | Inspiring quotes, Quote of the day and more...) and it does return a quote. Have you tried poering the inky shot off and then on again and seeing if that helps?