IndustrialShields RPI PLC support

Hi all,

I am just getting started with a first device on BalenaCloud, it is intended to be the control center of a battery system for use on construction sites.

Currently the devices are IndustrialShields RaspberryPi 4 based PLCs.
However I am having trouble use the extra extension boards supplied by IndustrialShields.

In a normal Raspbian environment it is very easy to make it work.
Just run an install.sh script which configures everything.
I have gone through the script and tried to execute all commands individually, but I am having trouble doing all of them because a lot of folders are read-only.

Any help to get this to work would be truly appreciated!

IndustrialShields guide for installation: https://www.industrialshields.com/blog/raspberry-pi-for-industry-26/installating-an-operative-system-in-the-raspberry-plc-491

Thanks!

1 Like

Hi there,

I took a look at the install.sh script here: https://apps.industrialshields.com/main/rpi/rpiplc_v4/install.sh to see what it does. From an initial glance, I would say:

insert "dtparam=spi=on" /boot/config.txt
insert "gpio=8=pd" /boot/config.txt
insert "dtoverlay=spi0-1cs,cs0_pin=7" /boot/config.txt
update "dtoverlay=w5500,cs=0,int_pin=6" /boot/config.txt
insert "dtparam=i2c_arm=on" /boot/config.txt
update "dtoverlay=i2c-rtc,ds3231" /boot/config.txt
update "dtoverlay=sc16is752-spi1-rpiplc-v4,xtal=14745600" /boot/config.txt

You can set these by either mounting the sd card with your balena OS image on it outside of the pi, and adding these to the config.txt in the boot partition. Alternatively, I believe you can set the dtoverlay and dtparam using device configuration variables as described here: Advanced boot settings - Balena Documentation

update "enable_uart=1" /boot/config.txt

same here.

insert "i2c-dev" /etc/modules

I think that this shouldn’t be nessaary, as I think that i2c-dev gets loaded by default. I would recommend running your container in privileged mode.