How to Get CPU Load and Memory Usage

Hello,

I’m new to Resin, Electron, and javascript so I apologize if this is a dumb question. I’m currently building a smart mirror project on a Raspberry Pi 3 B+ using Resin and Electron. The issue I’m having is I want to display diagnostic information on the mirror (as of right now just CPU load and memory usage). The problem I’m having arrises when I try to read from the /proc directory to get the live stats.

To start out, my directory structure looks like this (on my local machine before I push to resin):

resin-electronjs
|
|----Dockerfile.template
|----LICENSE
|----README.md
/app
    |
    |---bower.json
    |---main.js
    |---package-lock.json
    |---package.json
    |---start.sh
    /node_modules
    /data
        |--index.html
        |--clock.css
        |--main_window.css
        /js
            |--bundle.js
            |--clock.js
            |--core.js
            |--diagnostics.js
            |--py_stats.js

I discovered that I can print the stats to the console once if I use “var fs = require(‘fs’);” at the top of the main.js file and then call this in main.js:

fs.readFile('/proc/meminfo', 'utf8', function(err, data){
                   console.log("GETTING MEM INFO");
                   if(err){
                       console.log("MEM READ ERROR");
                       console.log(err);
                       cb(err);
                       return;
                   }
                   console.log("MEMORY_INFO: " + data);

cb(null, memInfo);
                   });

The issue is, I want to be able to get the cpu/memory data in the core.js file so I can update the UI during runtime. To do this I used browserify to package everything into bundle.js so I can use “var fs = require(‘browserify-fs’)” at the top of the core.js file. when I do fs.readFile the same way as above though, it prints an error to the console saying that there is no file “/proc/meminfo”.