Balena CLI suddenly fail: "The requested image's platform (linux/amd64) does not match the detected host platform"

Hello Forum,

I’ve been using balena CLI for a couple years to push to my fleet of RPI’s, both model 3 and 4’s. This morning, for the first time, the build fails, with following warnings. Updated CLI to latest version, tried balena push -c to bypass the cache, same results.

Step 2/8 : ENV UDEV=on
[main]      ---> [Warning] The requested image's platform (linux/amd64) does not match the detected host platform (linux/arm64/v8) and no specific platform was requested
  failed to get destination image "sha256:xxx": image with reference sha256:xxx was found but does not match the specified platform: wanted linux/arm64/v8, actual: linux/amd64
2 Likes

I am having the same issue. It started this morning

1 Like

Was having same issue yesterday - haven’t checked today.

The problem persists. I created separate fleets for our RPI3’s and RPI4’s and tried to push to these separately, cannot push to either of them.

Any ideas from the folks at Balena? We’re stuck and cannot update any of our devices.

Hi

Thanks for reporting this!

I have managed to reproduce this issue and currently looking into it

Thanks

@heinburgh @jpayne0061 @rodley could you guys share what base images you’re using here please? E.g. balenalib/raspberrypi3-python etc.?

To give a bit more context, what we’re finding is that very old, deprecated base images are the ones that are now failing, whilst newer and maintained ones seem to be working as normal.

Right, what seems to be the case is that the images which are very old and no longer maintained (e.g. balenalib/raspberrypi3-alpine-node:6-3.6-20181025) have an architecture of linux/amd64. This is a problem when you push to a fleet with an arm architecture as the builders then detect a mismatch and fail. These images are in some cases 4 years old and long since deprecated and so we’re not going to go back and update them.