Adding SLIP networking to Balena

I’m trying to add a SLIP networking interface to Balena. It’s working-ish as-in, when manually logging into a balena container with local mode. I can type all the commands and get it setup. However when it’s executing the same commands from a script (or via Docker RUN’s) the SLIP interface is not able to ping the other side.

Since i’m new to Balena, I only just figured that Networking should be done from the host it self, and that I should be adding a config file into the boot partition’s system-connections directory.

However I can’t find anything about SLIP support for Network Manager. Anyone that can perhaps point me in the right direction? Should I pursue getting the networking running from within the container, or figure out how to make it work from the balena host (supervisor) ?

Hi Steven, welcome to the forums!

If you can already set it up from within a container then you should definitely be able to automate that via a script. Can you share the commands you are using and how you are running the script?

Regarding networking in general, we allow both approaches in balenaOS, you can configure networking at runtime from a container (via DBUS or nmcli for instance) but we also allow configuration via system-connections directory. I’m not very familiar with SLIP, but I understand it should have support built in (also seeing as you can get it to work manually).

Also, if you haven’t, take a look at our docs which cover some of this topics:

If you can share further details on the scripts and commands you are running we can provide more assistance.

Hey tmigone, thanks a lot for the quick response!

In my Dockerfile.template i’ve got

FROM balenalib/%%RESIN_MACHINE_NAME%%-debian
ENV UDEV=on
CMD [ "./start.sh" ]

And the start.sh contains:

echo "Loading slip module"
modprobe slip
echo "Attaching to slip interface"
slattach -d -v -L -s 115200 -p slip /dev/ttyACM0 &
sleep 10
echo "Configuring slip interface"