Network bridge with dummy interface via networkmanager

Hi. I’m new to using Balena and I try to create a bridge with a dummy interface and a regular ethernet port as members. This way the IP address on the bridge is always up. I can’t seem to get networkmanager to understand my request. Has anyone achieved this?

Hi @tuxeric, welcome to the balena forums.

I certainly have not seen this done before, but it should definitely be doable. Be aware that both balenaOS and docker are likely to create their own bridges - I wouldn’t mess with those. Can you post the connection file you’ve been experimenting with?

Thanks,
James.

Hi. I should have start saying I installed Balena on a RPI3. The way I try to bring the bridge up is this.

nmcli con add type bridge ifname tbr0
nmcli con add type dummy ifname dummy0
nmcli con add type dummy con-name dummy-br ifname dummy0 master tbr0
nmcli con add type ethernet con-name eth0-br ifname eth0 master tbr0
nmcli con mod bridge-tbr0 ipv4.method manual ipv4.addresses 10.20.30.1/24 

The dummy interface is created and I would expect dummy0 to be added to the bridge, only it isn’t.

root@balenapi:~# balena run -it --rm --network host --privileged alpine brctl show
bridge name     bridge id               STP enabled     interfaces
tbr0            8000.000000000000       yes
resin-dns               8000.000000000000       no
supervisor0             8000.02424f109696       no
balena0         8000.0242ca5b18e1       no

root@balenapi:~# ip add li | egrep '^[0-9]:'
1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 65536 qdisc noqueue qlen 1000
2: eth0: <NO-CARRIER,BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP> mtu 1500 qdisc fq_codel qlen 1000
3: wlan0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc fq_codel qlen 1000
4: resin-dns: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc noqueue qlen 1000
5: tbr0: <NO-CARRIER,BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP> mtu 1500 qdisc noqueue qlen 1000
6: dummy0: <BROADCAST,NOARP,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc noqueue qlen 1000