Adding Custom UI Raspios Buster Lite ARMV61

Hi there! I am relatively new to wifi-connect. I am currently having problems with the -u argument for adding custom UI’s for the captive portal. Using curl I was able to install wifi-connect on my RPI. Before setting up a service to autostart wifi-connect, I first started wifi-connect manually to test using the following command:

sudo wifi-connect -s SSID -u /home/pi/ui`

[About the ui folder] I cloned the wifi-connect repository on my laptop and customized it. I was able to get a production build and transferred the built ui folder via pscp. The problem I am currently encountering is that the SSID appears but the captive portal is not appearing. I have seen the related issues and tried all of them but they used dockers in their setup. I am only following the Raspbian/Debian Stretch setup.

*Note: Without the ui argument the wifi-connect works without any problems. I am guessing that it fails to locate the ui folder.

Hope to hear from you guys! Thank you!

Hey, are there any relevant logs from wifi-connect that may indicate a problem? In the meantime I’ll see if I can get more information for you.

Hi @CameronDiver, the problem is that I can’t seem to get a hold of any logs when I run

sudo wifi-connect -s SSID -u /home/pi/ui

It simply runs at the default ip address and port number, the SSID appears on my phone and my laptop but when I try to connect to it, the captive portal does not open. Even manually typing the ip address and port on my browser does not do anything.

Is there an argument in wifi-connect where I could get logs?

Thank you so much for helping me, I appreciate it!

Hi, so it is not working when you pass a custom UI folder as command line argument, but it is working when you leave it with the default UI - can you please double check this is the case? Can you please also verify that there is an index.html in the /home/pi/ui folder that you are passing as a command line argument?

Thanks,
Zahari