Transfer file to IOT

Hi,

I need to transfer an application data file to the raspberry pi, may be a couple times a day. The file size is around 20mb. I am considering the following options:

• break down the file in small chunks and transfer the data using MQTT
  • use HTTP to post the file to the pi
  • does balena provide any file transfer services that I can use

I am new to IOT, which way is the prefer way? I can see with the MQTT approach, i need to resemble the file from the MQTT messages and the HTTP approach I need to run a http server on the pi.

Thanks
Patrick

Hi Patrick,

A chunk of 20mb for a couple of times a day should not be a problem for a RPi device.

Probably the easiest way to transfer a file to the device is to use our CLI with the balena tunnel command as described in the bottom of this post: https://github.com/balena-io/balena-cli/issues/885

In this way you won’t have to run additional services in your container, but you can directly copy/scp the contents to the desired location. Will such a solution work for you?

Thanks,
Zahari

Hi Zahari,

Thanks for the suggestion. I tried that and it works! Now, I have another question, should I upload the data file directly to

/var/lib/docker/volumes/<APP_ID + volume>-data/_data

so that the container can access the file? I checked the balena doc and it stated it doesn’t support docker volume bind.

Thanks
Patrick

@pli yes you can put the file in that location if you’d like to access it from a container. You’re right in that you can’t bind other directories on the host OS but you can add files to named volumes in the way you’re proposing.

Thanks for the reply. I have two questions about using the balena tunneling

balena login --credentials --email --password

balena tunnel <device’s uuid> -p 22222:4321
[Info] Tunnel to <device’s uuid>
? Select a device
[Info] - tunnelling localhost:4321 to <device’s uuid>
[Info] Waiting for connections…