Install Argon One Case Script

Hi,

Beginner here…

If not in the right place, please move.

I followed THIS guide to turn a Raspberry Pi 4 into a webcam device I can give my parents so they can videocall with their granddaughter during this Corona crisis…

Works perfectly.

But the Pi4 runs pretty hot.
I have an Argon One case and even with the heatsinks, it gets pretty hot.
The case also has a controlable fan for which you need to install a script.
More info HERE on how to do that in Raspberry OS.

Since Raspberry OS wasn’t really working well for videocalling, I want to stick with BalenaOS.

But how can I install the script to control the fan?
I tried via the terminal in the BalenaCloud Dashboard, but curl https://download.argon40.com/argon1.sh | bash doesn’t work.

Any help?

thx.

Hey Dim - welcome to the forums and to balena!

It’s great to hear that balenaOS and this project is doing it’s job and keeping people connected during the pandemic.
The Pi4 will get warm, because it’s having to work pretty hard to decode the video stream from the call. This will be done in software, so the CPU will be earning it’s keep. Rest assured, though, the PI4 was designed to run hot, and will throttle itself to avoid damage. However adding a better case, and a fan, is a good idea nonetheless.

Now, onto your fan script.
The first thing that’s worth tell you, is that the services that run on a balena device (in this instance the ‘kiosk’ service that is running the browser window) are writeable, but only to their locally created filesystem layers, which only exist for the lifespan of the service. To put it another way, anything you change in the container whilst it’s running, will be reset when the container restarts. The container is recreated each time it starts up. So running the script you linked, even if it had worked, would only work until the service (or whole device) restarted. More details here.