Help with RPi Access Point and iPhone tether

Thank you in advance to anyone who is able to help me with my current project.

I am trying to run a Raspberry Pi (with no internet connection) as an access point that an iPhone can connect to. Once connected, I would like the Pi to be able to access the internet through the iPhone’s cellular. I have heard of projects/iOT devices that accomplish this, but I am by no means a networking expert and have had some difficulty.

I am able to run the RPi in AP mode and I can connect the phone to the Pi using the SSID I establish. However, when I do this, both the Pi and iPhone do not have internet access. This article implies that I should modify dnsmasq.confsetting dhcp-option=3, but that file is in a read-only partition. Is there a work-around for this?

Hello,

From what I understand you want the rpi to connect to your iphone through wifi and use the phone’s cellular connection to access the Internet.

In order to do so, you need your rpi to act as a regular wifi client and your phone as an access point (not the contrary).

Just set up your iphone as an access point following this https://support.apple.com/guide/iphone/share-your-internet-connection-iph45447ca6/ios

Then connect your rpi to this wifi network using the ssid and password disaplyed on your phone.

Hello, thank you for the quick response. I do want to use the iPhone’s cellular connection but I want the Pi to act as the access point. I know it sounds backwards from what is normally done, but there are devices that do this. The motivation for doing it this way is that the iPhone personal hotspot tends to kick “inactive” devices (Apple doesn’t seem to share their guidelines for this), so if I connect a Pi to the phone’s hotspot it tends to lose that connection after a while. I’m trying to keep that connections alive and stable for as long as possible.

Hi Brett,