Build festive lighting for the holidays with balena, Christmas lights

OK so last year i used my raspberry pi for my Christmas lights and saw this project to use RBG lights with a balenacloud account. it looked really cool so im trying it this year. the only problem is its not working like the instructions say and im stuck. i got everything loaded into the cloud and loaded to my RP but the services wont run like they are supposed to. i cant find a way to contact the guy that made the project to ask for tips or help and i really want this to work. if i can get it to work then i will use it from now on. please someone help me im really new to balena, and coding and dont understand what im doing wrong.

Hi @edgeedj1982 welcome to Balena. Do you have any error logs showing up on your dashboard. Are the services restarting over and over, or did they just not start at all? What version of balenaOS and device type are you using for this project?

Ok so I’m not getting any errors or anything. The services just don’t start. Two of them say downloaded and one says installed, but non of them will start. Even if I try to start them manually still nothing happens.

the balenaOS is balenaOS 2.43.0+rev1 and im using a raspberry pi 3. Sorry i tried to post screenshots but couldn’t figure out how.

Hi, could you grant us support access to the device and send us the device uuid, so that we can take a look? Thank you.

Hi,
We where able to reproduce the issue locally, so no need to grant support access or tell us your device uuid. We will investigate and update this thread when we know what is going on.

Awesome thanks

Hi,
We created an issue in the repo (https://github.com/balena-io-playground/fadecandy-led-controller/issues/2), so you can track the process there as well.

Thanks, hopefully they will fix it soon. I don’t have anyone to teach me this stuff and I have to teach myself. Thanks again