Trying to combine projects on one Pi

Complete beginner here, trying to follow the instructions in this article to combine the Balena Home Assistant and Balena PiHole projects on a RPi 4B, 4GB variant. I’ve worked through several releases and finally have all containers running but usually wind up either not being able to access the PiHole interface or the Home Assistant interface. In my current build, when I browse to the internal IP of my Pi, I get the PiHole admin interface. using when I try the IP as x.x.x.x:8213, I get a connection refused error. I can get to the configurator interface at x.x.x.x:3128 and I can reach the MQTT broker at x.x…x.x:1883.

I’m not sure where I’ve gone wrong here, and I’m not sure what the best way is to ask for help. Should I post the text of my docker-compose file?

1 Like

Posting the docker compose file can never hurt - there’s likely a networking issue going on here and seeing the docker compose might help identify it quickly :slight_smile:

OK, the forum won’t let me upload it, going to try to copy/paste it and see how this goes. The port 4199 is where I’m trying to enable the HomeAssistant container to listen on port 4199 for this integration

version: '2'
volumes:
    config:
    mosquitto:
    pihole_config:
    dnsmasq_config:
services:
  pihole: 
    build: pihole
    ports: 
      - 8080:80 
    cap_add:
      - SYS_TTY_CONFIG
      - NET_ADMIN
    volumes:
      - "pihole_config:/etc/pihole"
      - "dnsmasq_config:/etc/dnsmasq.d"
    dns:
      - "127.0.0.1"
      - "1.1.1.1"
    network_mode: host
    labels:
      io.balena.features.dbus: "1"
    devices:
      - /dev/tty0
      - /dev/tty1

unbound:
    build: unbound
    ports:
      - "5053:5053/tcp"
      - "5053:5053/udp"

# https://github.com/balenablocks/fbcp
  fbcp:
    image: balenablocks/fbcp:1.0.0
    privileged: true

# https://github.com/balenablocks/hostname
  hostname:
    build: hostname
    restart: no
    labels: