Networking Setup: Raspberry Pi as a Router

Hey there,

first off, merry belated christmas to you all, I hope you had a nice christmas week.

I’m currently trying out Balena for an IoT-ish project and at this point I’ve happened across some networking issues that I seem incapable of resolving on my own. I’ve never worked with NetworkManager before, so I’m struggling a bit to wrap my head around getting it to do what I want it to, so I figured I’d ask for help here.

My setup is as follows:

• I have multiple Balena-imaged devices with network connectivity (Ethernet)
  • I have one “main” device (also Balena-imaged) which has multiple network interfaces

The main device is a Raspberry Pi 4B. It has two ethernet ports (one via a USB adapter for the time being) and WiFi. The other devices have one ethernet port each.

I would like to set the Pi up such that it can intake an existing internet connection through some means (either one of the Ethernet ports or possibly a GSM modem later down the line) and subsequently act as a router for all “downstream” devices. A switch is hooked up to one of the ethernet ports, and several more devices are connected to that switch.

The end goal I have in mind would be for the Pi to work as a “router” in the sense that all downstream devices and the WiFi would be in one network, with internet connectivity supplied to the Pi through a secondary interface. Let us assume this is another ethernet port to make this more concrete.

I’ve attached an image showing what I have in mind below.

I already have some progress towards this goal, but it’s not quite there yet.

I first created a WiFi hotspot according to Balena’s networking documentation:

[connection]
id=balena-hotspot
type=wifi
autoconnect=true
interface-name=wlan0
permissions=
secondaries=

[wifi]
band=bg
mac-address-blacklist=
mac-address-randomization=0
mode=ap
seen-bssids=
ssid=WiFi

[wifi-security]
group=
key-mgmt=wpa-psk
pairwise=
proto=rsn
psk=123456789

[ipv4]
dns-search=