Limit of forward proxy

Hi,
at first, I am not an network expert …

On our future data acquisition environment we use thousands of devices running balenaOS. The communication of the balenaOS devices to the internet (balenasdashboard) works via a forward proxy ( nadoo/glider) which is running on a docker container on a balenaOS.

So for example we will have 5000 devices (Siemens IPC) with balenaOS that has an internet connection via an edge-device (Siemens IPC, balenaOS with forward proxy in an docker container)

My questions are:

• How many permanent/temp connections does each device (balenaOS) opens to the internet
  • what could be the limit, if the limit is the number of available ports at the edge-device I need more edge-devices, if the limit is the CPU-load, I need an edge-device with more power
  • I have to find out, is one edge-device enough or do I need more edge-devices

Thank you!

Hi @dev4iotattgw

Welcome to the forums.

I am forwarding your questions to the relevant team. we will get back to you.

Thanks

For anyone else following this I wanted to expose some information that was shared via our support agents:

Notes on the connections devices make

• There will be one permanent connection to the VPN, one to the logging backend and there also short-lived requests.

• one request every 15 minute to the state endpoint. This can be configured to be longer. Note that if a new release is made available, device will be informed thru the vpn and this request will be made sooner.

• one long lived request to the log endpoint (as long as there’s logs to be sent), limiting the logs produced by your apps would dramatically reduce the length of this request.

• one permanent connection to the VPN (can be turned off, but would loose some functionalities)

• some NTP connections to calibrate the clock

• any connection your apps would do

Incoming connections