Certificates of openBalena

Hi all,

I’ve been busy with openBalena for a while and this time I have a question about the certificates of openBalena.
When creating an openBalena instance using ./scripts/quickstart, some certificates are being generated. These are used in the following environment variables (afaik):

OPENBALENA_ROOT_CA
OPENBALENA_ROOT_CRT
OPENBALENA_ROOT_KEY

OPENBALENA_VPN_CA
OPENBALENA_VPN_CA_CHAIN
OPENBALENA_VPN_SERVER_CRT
OPENBALENA_VPN_SERVER_KEY
OPENBALENA_VPN_SERVER_DH

I have limited knowledge about certificates and I’d like to know more about the openBalena certificates. I’ve only worked with SSL certificates for HTTPS connections. Now, I know that openBalena uses HTTPS, and I use Let’s Encrypt for the HTTPS endpoints instead of the generated certificates, so I don’t get any errors while trying to connect. However, the VPN endpoint and VPN certificates don’t use Let’s Encrypt, because these are other certificates.

As far as I know, certificates have an expiry date. Let’s Encrypt uses 90 days by default and other SSL providers use 1 year. But what’s the expiry date on the openBalena certificates, like the VPN? And if they expire, what happens next? And is there a way to create new certificates for devices or something?

I’m asking this because I don’t want to know about the expiry after they’ve expired :slight_smile:.

Thanks in advance!

1 Like

Hey Bart, let me double-check with the team just so I don’t give you inaccurate information and we’ll get back to you.

1 Like

Hi Bart,

So the defaults for the certificate generation are found here: https://github.com/balena-io/open-balena/blob/709d00b898dc7503baf1275c58ae4d0e95544d66/scripts/ssl-common.sh#L23-L25; The CA is 10 years and the individual certificates are 2 years.