Cannot ssh into pihole

Apparently I must ssh into my Raspberry Pi running pi-hole, but every time I try, I get

ssh: connect to host 192.168.1.8 port 22: Connection refused

I’ve tried

touch /boot/ssh

but that does not help. In fact, it may be that openssh-server is not installed.

Not sure what to do. It’s quite awkward to connect a keyboard, mouse and monitor to it. It runs headless quite well, maybe just can’t upgrade it.

Hi there,

Devices running balenaOS can be SSHd into using either the balena Dashboard via the web terminal, or via the balena-cli ssh command, as SSH does not run on port 22.

More information can be found here: https://www.balena.io/docs/learn/manage/ssh-access/

Best regards, Heds

Sorry, I’m stuck in various loops and I’m not an expert. The upgrade instructions say to type “pihole -up” at the command prompt. If I do this inside the web terminal window, I get

root@a063ac9:/usr/src# pihole -up
Function not supported in Docker images

(following the link above) I then tried downloading the CLI for the Mac and installed it. The instructions say to generate an SSH key. I tried that from the balena window under Preferences, selected “Download from GitHub” and ended up in an endless loop where I was told I didn’t have an SSH key, it looked like it was downloading data, and ended up telling me that I don’t have a key. I don’t see a way out of this.

Hi again,

I believe you need to SSH into the container running the Pihole service, and not the root of the device (the HostOS). When you use the web terminal, there should be a dropdown with a list of services as well as the HostOS. You should be able to select ‘Pihole’ and then SSH into it and run the command.