Cannot figure out Dockerfile template and start.sh

Hello, I have been trying to run a python script that uses openCV to show videos and images.
The main directory contains 1 folder that is cache ( used to store media) , the python script, Dockerfile.template and start.sh. After several tried I am unable to display the output of Python script using XServer. Since I am very new to this, could anyone please help me write the template and start.sh

Thanks

Hi,

To give you a starting point, we have an example project here that uses xserver https://github.com/balena-io-playground/x11-window-manager maybe you can find some more hints there. If you can share your project with us, we’ll probably be able to help you get started.

1 Like

The following is the git repo im trying to run on Xserver. Kindly help!

Hi,

There are a couple of problems with your code.

• You are missing a COPY operation in your dockerfile to actually move the files into your docker image.
  • You are trying to start the new_video.py script, which in it’s path is missing the leading /
  • If you want to use a start.sh you need to call the start.sh script as CMD in your dockerfile.

Please take a look at the referenced example repository and we are happy to help with specific questions.

1 Like

Hi, the above solution worked well and managed to run the python script well. I have installed the below mentioned packages and still I am getting error of import.

RUN install_packages
xserver-xorg-core
xserver-xorg-input-all
xserver-xorg-video-fbdev
xorg
libxcb-image0
libxcb-util0
xdg-utils
libdbus-1-3
libnotify4
libgnome-keyring0
libgconf-2-4
libasound2
libcap2
libcups2
libxtst6
libxss1
libnss3
libsmbclient
libssh-4
fbset
libexpat1
python3-tk

ERROR

Traceback (most recent call last):
26.02.20 13:11:20 (+0530) main File “new_video.py”, line 6, in
26.02.20 13:11:20 (+0530) main import tkinter
26.02.20 13:11:20 (+0530) main File “/usr/local/lib/python3.5/tkinter/init.py”, line 35, in